A Father’s Day question.

What is something positive that you learned from your dad?

Mine taught me many things, but here are a few that have always stuck in my mind, even though he’s been gone for over 33 years now.

My dad was a prize-fighter before he married my mom. He never taught me how to fight.

My dad taught me about the importance of family and being a responsible person. He had a reputation as a tough guy who was hard to get along with yet, when his mother-in-law couldn’t take of herself he was the ONLY one who stepped up. He moved her to a nursing home near us and visited her EVERY DAY until she passed away a few years later.

My dad absolutely worshipped the ground my mother walked on. He taught me, by example, how a man should love, respect and treat the woman he loves.

There’s my short list.

What are some of yours?

Happy Father’s Day, Dad. I love you!

Steve

My dad in his Prize Fighting days


Leave a Reply

