Weekend Gig Report – 04/09/10 Open Mic Fridays at Cork & Olive

OK, I’m just gonna come right out and say it, so please pardon my language. Last night Kicked Ass! We had six new OMF musicians come out in addition to Peter and Mike, two of my Open Mic Fridays anchors and we had lots of folks hang out to enjoy the music.

D.B. Daddy did one of his signature sets with a mix of Ballads and Fun originals with that Cajun style he does so well. Next up was my friend Sharon. The last time we shared a stage was my birthday in ’08. Sharon has grown in musical leaps and bounds and brought the house down with originals and a cover. Her mom, Becky, was along and made sure everyone saw the magazine article on Sharon and her daughter, Becca. Hopefully we’ll have both of ‘em up next time.

Benjamin sat down and knocked out a solid set including songs by Jason Mraz and Lady Gaga. He’s fairly new in town and I’m sure we’ll see and hear a lot more of him. Ron came on and treated the crowd to some great rock numbers from the ‘70’s. Ron has become a regular at Open Mic Sundays and I think we can add OMF to the list, now. I missed brothers John and Steve last week and I’m so glad they returned. They’ve got a great sound with John on acoustic guitar, harp and vocals and Steve on electric guitar. They’ll be back.

Mike delivered some of his great original songs. I tell you, you know exactly how Mike felt when he wrote his songs. Good stuff, good stuff! Peter did his take on a few Beatles songs, Rocky Raccoon and Glass Onion to start us out. I really like Peter’s versions of those songs. He just has so much fun doing them. I tell you, my “anchors’ always deliver the goods.

Sharon and I did duets on Amy and Can’t You See before I closed out the night with two of my originals, As Long As It Takes and Guardrails of My Life. But before everyone left, we all sang Happy Birthday to Amy. Ahh, our little girl is growing up right before our very eyes!

We also had four musicians stop in to check it out and they will be ready to perform next time! We might have some percussion and Jazz sax…..

Stephanie, Amy and Doreen did their usual fine job taking care of everyone. I can’t thank you ladies enough for how easy you make my job each Friday!

Lovin the music,

Steve

Visit Steve’s Web Site

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

