Do You Know The Four Levels of Competency?

The Four Levels of Competency

I would like to share something with you that I explain to all of my students, to give them a perspective of their progress and areas of improvement. I call it the Four Levels of Competency.

1. Unconsciously Incompetent – You’re brand new and you don’t know what you don’t know.

2. Consciously Incompetent – You learn a little and start to realize what you don’t know. This can be scary, but stick with it and you will become….

3. Consciously Competent – You have to think about what to do. It seems like hard work, but eventually you’ll be…

4. Unconsciously Competent – You’re on auto-pilot. You don’t have to think about what to do.

Think of a skill that you have mastered. Now think back over the learning process. There you go. You’ve done this many times before and know that it can be done!

I hope this makes the learning process easier and helps motivate you to achieve your dreams.

What are your thoughts?

All the best,


Visit my Guitar Lesson Studio Web Site

Visit my Musician/Band Web Site


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s