01/15/10 – 01/16/10 – Genuine Bistro & Lounge

This was my first time playing Genuine Bistro and I can’t wait to come back. First of all, Barrie, Carla and Laura have transformed a run down building into a very classy, yet relaxed restaurant. The menu, created by Chef Tommy, is top notch with daily specials and the staff is friendly and does a great job of taking care of the tables.

Alright, on to the evening. I played Friday and Saturday nights from 6:30 – 10:30 on the nicest outdoor patio in Volusia County. In fact, the nicest outdoor patio I’ve EVER played on. I’m guessing it measures about 100’ x 20’ with a 10’ ceiling and romantic lighting. Ceiling fans for the warm weather and propane heaters for the cold guarantee your comfort. We used the heaters both nights and it was better than being indoors.

The crowd both nights was fun. I played some requests, joked around and made some announcements, like I always do. To me, it’s about entertaining the crowd, not just performing. There were 6 to 10 people each night that hung around for a few hours after they had finished their meals and that’s always a good sign. BTW, the acoustics are great on the patio.

This week, I’ll be booking more dates for Genuine Bistro, so be sure to check back. I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

