New song released – What do you think?

If I Could Be Your Mirror

This the first time I have ever collaborated on one of my original songs and, I have to tell you, it was a blast!

My good friend, Parlor Jones, and I were spending an afternoon stretching our musical brains and trying some different stuff on guitars and vocals. We accidentally found some songs I had sent him to look at over a year ago and we opened up If I Could Be Your Mirror.

Parlor said, “Hmmm, let me show you what I’m thinking.” The music he put together was perfect – no second thoughts on my part. This is a very simple song with four very short, to the point verses, kind of like Clapton’s Wonderful Tonight (I’m only comparing it in terms of simplicity).

So, we fleshed it out, added an instrumental bridge, added an intro and did a run through. Not bad, but something was missing. We added the instrumental bridge to the intro and decided to also use the bridge as the outro.

Next Parlor laid down an awesome bass track and added a simple drum beat. Then we tracked his vocals and called it a day.

Over the next few days, Parlor worked out some specific lead guitar parts. If you know me, you know I’m mostly a rhythm player and my leads are kind of free-flowing improv. Parlor’s lead work was impeccable. He added them to the mix and brought his vocals into the mix in a very creative, and incredibly effective, way.

So, the finished product is about 3min 10sec and we are really happy with how it turned out. We also worked up a live acoustic version.

Give it a listen and let us know what you think!

Taking you back to a simpler time with… music,

Steve & Parlor Jones


Leave a Reply

